Mitchell try - whats the rule?

Post Reply
User avatar
Robbie
Member
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon 17 May, 2010 11:41 am

Mitchell try - whats the rule?

Post by Robbie » Mon 23 Aug, 2010 3:17 pm

I know that this happens every week in one form or another and Mitchell would have scored anyway, but what is the rule regarding players from the attacking team pushing a player making the tackle??

As Lui was trying to make the tackle on Mitchell, Mannah came through and pushed Lui.


User avatar
underdog
Member
Member
Posts: 5264
Joined: Tue 27 Apr, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: Gold Coast

Post by underdog » Mon 23 Aug, 2010 3:20 pm

Its interesting thought ..

Must admit it crossed my mind as well, since it looked like Lui could have carried mitchell dead with the momentum they had and strength he showed, only to have tim mannah come in and effectively trip him up, thus grounding the ball....
Image

User avatar
diedpretty
Member
Member
Posts: 2517
Joined: Thu 16 Jul, 2009 7:31 am
Location: port macquarie

Post by diedpretty » Mon 23 Aug, 2010 3:34 pm

i'm pretty sure the rule is you can' timpede a tackler making a tackle you can however assist another player to get over the line by pushing him- i thought you could only do this by touching your own player not an opposition tackler

User avatar
Yossarian
Member
Member
Posts: 9503
Joined: Sat 11 Jul, 2009 7:46 pm
Location: Central Coast

Post by Yossarian » Mon 23 Aug, 2010 3:40 pm

Yeah I see some teams do it seemingly as a tactic almost every hit up. Personally I don't like it. Fair enough if you're trying to stop someone being pushed back but not to gain ground. I also hate it when players drag tacklers off the tackled player to speed up the play-the-ball. That should be a penalty.

User avatar
Hbom
Member
Member
Posts: 633
Joined: Mon 13 Jul, 2009 12:18 pm

Post by Hbom » Mon 23 Aug, 2010 4:12 pm

Must have been dangerously close to a penalty IMO.


User avatar
mike
Forum Suppoter
Forum Suppoter
Posts: 1609
Joined: Mon 28 Jun, 2010 8:32 pm
Location: Hornsby

Post by mike » Mon 23 Aug, 2010 4:18 pm

Robbie wrote:I know that this happens every week in one form or another and Mitchell would have scored anyway, but what is the rule regarding players from the attacking team pushing a player making the tackle??

As Lui was trying to make the tackle on Mitchell, Mannah came through and pushed Lui.
I just watched the game again and I must say that was the thought I had as well. I thought you could not impede someone attempting a tackle. It must have been very close to a penalty. Not saying that Lui would definitely have been able to prevent the try but it did look suspect.
Western Suburbs supporter since 1960 | Balmain junior since 1967 | Wests Tigers supporter since 1999

User avatar
Sabre
Member
Member
Posts: 6898
Joined: Fri 10 Jul, 2009 9:06 pm
Location: Tiger Town

Post by Sabre » Mon 23 Aug, 2010 4:18 pm

I think Mannah was pushing Mitchell towards the line, not Lui. Nothing wrong with it.

However there should have been more Tigers there to help Lui

Lukic
Member
Member
Posts: 327
Joined: Tue 27 Apr, 2010 4:03 pm

Post by Lukic » Mon 23 Aug, 2010 4:39 pm

I was hoping Mannah would've kept pushing them to the point where Mitchell was over the line.

Also, did Horo ground the ball on his try?

User avatar
mike
Forum Suppoter
Forum Suppoter
Posts: 1609
Joined: Mon 28 Jun, 2010 8:32 pm
Location: Hornsby

Post by mike » Mon 23 Aug, 2010 4:43 pm

Someone called in about it on Talkin' Sport (2SM).

They are going to raise it with BH when he comes on.
Western Suburbs supporter since 1960 | Balmain junior since 1967 | Wests Tigers supporter since 1999

scags

Post by scags » Mon 23 Aug, 2010 6:44 pm

if it was just mitchell and lui, i actually think lui would of had a pretty close chance of saving that try, one on one, it would of been totally different, lui looked to be getting under mitchell.

but boy that mitchell was a good sub for them, they lifted on the basis of his enthuisasm! If only daniela can do it for us, "if" he gets on the field.

User avatar
farahfan
Member
Member
Posts: 228
Joined: Sat 11 Jul, 2009 5:27 pm

Post by farahfan » Mon 23 Aug, 2010 6:49 pm

i had a similar thought a while back
if what mannah did was allowed, does this mean players can starting forming mauls ala union
because as long as the ball carrier is moving forward the ref cant call held?

Post Reply