Anyone here surf?

General Social Discussion
chickenkebabs

Anyone here surf?

Post by chickenkebabs » Wed 26 Apr, 2017 5:21 pm

I just started learning a month or so ago. So much harder than it looks!!

Tigerdon

Post by Tigerdon » Wed 26 Apr, 2017 6:05 pm

Yep. Just back from a surf trip. three weeks up the North Coast.
Look for small waves and get yourself a big foamy , if you are just starting out.
Also look for the south corners of most Sydney beaches. Not the open exposed sections of the beach. Surf schools are a good start.
Last edited by Tigerdon on Wed 26 Apr, 2017 6:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
in Ivan we distrust

WswWt

Post by WswWt » Wed 26 Apr, 2017 6:07 pm

I surf waves with my jet ski? 😏

Love the WestsTigers

Post by Love the WestsTigers » Wed 26 Apr, 2017 6:10 pm

I surf the net .. Does that count .

Or do you mean crowd surfing, i aint that popular Yet
Last edited by Love the WestsTigers on Wed 26 Apr, 2017 7:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

hobbo

Post by hobbo » Wed 26 Apr, 2017 6:16 pm

Nah ...Ugg boots and Flannys for me
100% Westie !
We need mongrel ..
No more plodders !

chickenkebabs

Post by chickenkebabs » Wed 26 Apr, 2017 6:19 pm

Tigerdon wrote:
Wed 26 Apr, 2017 6:05 pm
Look for small waves and get yourself a big foamy , if you are just starting out.
Also look for the south corners of most Sydney beaches. Not the open exposed sections of the beach. Surf schools are a good start.
Had a few lessons, got to where I could paddle on to a wave and ride it in on a foamie. Have got a mini mal now and have struggled since. I usually go to the southern end of dee why unless it's really small. Where abouts you go?

strrretch

Post by strrretch » Wed 26 Apr, 2017 7:00 pm

Learning to read the surf is the first step....bodyboards are a good start. takes lots of practise before u get any good on a stand up board. Big boards are easier of course, but who wants to ride them?

chickenkebabs

Post by chickenkebabs » Wed 26 Apr, 2017 7:36 pm