Business under stress - what would you do?

tigh

I'm a business owner under some considerable stress, and am wondering what you would do under these circumstances?

I've been in business for over 20 years, been in my current industry for 8 years - and it has been very good to me. The recent GFC however has cruelled me. I've gone from 36 staff to 16 over the last 12 months. My turnover is down 28%, while my fixed costs have not changed. I'm bleeding $12 - $15k per month. I've got a mortgage, 4 kids and 2 dogs, but my wife and I can't afford to pay ourselves a wage. I've got debt of $300k on the business plus a $100k overdraft. I've got the ATO chasing me for $40K of taxes (some of which is tax in advance on money I am yet to earn - and will not earn due to the current climate) and am accruing interest on this ATO debt. Heres the Q…..............

Do I hang in there and wait for the economy to turn (when the economy turns I believe we can get back to break even) - or do I shut up shop, pay out employee entitlements, payout the business debt and walk away?

Help me out here - What would you do?

steven_tiger

Jesus mate, sorry to hear it's all gone wrong.

Very tough decision. Obviously family comes first. With a mortgage and kids it isn't easy to 'ride it out'.

Good luck with whatever decision you make.

Peaches

I wouldn't walk away unless I had something else lined up. If breaking even is at its best after the GFC is over, than the business may not be worth keeping. Aren't they supposed to make money.

innsaneink

Depends what you have to walk away to I suppose.

Just o/t for a sec, did you decide on some text for your tatt?
Spose thats least on your mind right now

tigh

@innsaneink said:
Depends what you have to walk away to I suppose.

Just o/t for a sec, did you decide on some text for your tatt?
Spose thats least on your mind right now

That wasn't me Ink - but I threw up some ideas for him. Wasn't that Hemsley' Heardresser or King Sirro?

Blokarter