Little bored this bye week?

alex

I've just written a report on the Wests Tigers for a uni assignment :smiley:

I'm studying commerce at Sydney Uni and one of the subjects I'm taking is on Business Alliances. While everyone else was doing pretty standard ones - OneWorld, Star Alliance etc, I tried to think outside the box and did the Tigers joint venture. Anyways, here's what I wrote, hope it doesn't bore you too much. Enjoy…

**Background**
The Wests Tigers are a professional Rugby League team competing in the National Rugby League (NRL). The NRL was formed in 1998 under a partnership arrangement between the Australian Rugby League and News Ltd to administer the National Competition1\. It is the major Rugby League competition in Australia with 16 teams comprised of 3 from Queensland, 10 from NSW, 1 from Canberra, 1 in Victoria & 1 in New Zealand.

Wests Tigers Rugby League Football Pty Ltd is a company, limited by shares, established under a joint venture agreement between the Balmain Tigers DRLFC, Western Suburbs DRLFC and Western Suburbs Leagues Clubs at Ashfield and Campbelltown2\. Wests Tigers are one of two joint venture teams in the NRL, the other being the St George-Illawarra Dragons who were the first joint venture club in NRL history, formed in 1998.3

The Balmain Tigers and Western Suburbs Magpies no longer compete in the NRL, however both teams still compete in the second tier competition, the NSW Cup. Western Suburbs and Balmain continue to stand alone in junior levels and have resisted pressures to merge through all grades4.

**Strategic Rationale**