Marshall has been halfback for 3 years now

“My role is not going to change. I have been playing half-back for the past three years wearing number sixes. It’s (an) optical illusion.”

Words of the great benji marshall, your thoughts

Wheres that from? Post the link please, Id like to read it.

But yeh, most knew this.
I mean you only have to watch the games. 😒

Lockyer did this for most of his career, the only thing I don’t understand is why you even bother putting them in no. 6 jerseys?

If the numbers don’t matter why not jumble the whole lot of them up???

He could have fooled me,i swear he plays differently when he plays with 7 on his back 😒

BENJI: ‘I’VE BEEN A HALF-BACK FOR THE PAST THREE YEARS’

Thursday 17 May 2012 5:28 PM
BENJI: ‘I’VE BEEN A HALF-BACK FOR THE PAST THREE YEARS’

Benji Marshall says there will be no adjustment to his game despite wearing the number 7 jersey at Leichhardt Oval on Friday night.

Marshall will appear for the first time this season without his beloved number 6 on his back when Wests Tigers tackle the Warriors from 7.45pm in round 11 of the Telstra Premiership.

Head Coach Tim Sheens has moved centre Chris Lawrence to five-eighth resulting in Marshall at half. Sheens made the same switch prior to kick-off in the last start win over the Gold Coast Titans.

“It took the coach probably three years to convince me to change the number. I wasn’t real happy about it at first,’’ Marshall said.

“It is a job in the team. I couldn’t really let Chris Lawrence wear 7 because then you would have to say he was playing half-back. And everybody will be like what?!

“My role is not going to change. I have been playing half-back for the past three years wearing number sixes. It’s (an) optical illusion.”

The switch from five-eighth will see Marshall take on dynamic young half-back Shaun Johnson, who has already been referred to as the ‘next Benji Marshall’ –a reference the Kiwi Test captain was unfazed by.