@voice_of_reason said in Penalty Try?:
@cochise said in Penalty Try?:
@voice_of_reason Once they contact a defender, a defender has to make an effort to move past them or make a decision based on an offside player then they have effected play!
Sorry, I disagree, there has to be discretion.
Take this example. I kick the ball through and a teammate batts it back to me. I’m a metre from the try line and he’s now in front of me. I throw a 20m cutout to the winger who falls over the line from a metre out. While I’m throwing the pass, the fullback contacts the guy in front of me while heading towards the winger 20m away.
The fullback has zero chance of getting near the winger, but technically he has made contact with the attacker who is in front of me and obstructed him.
Should that be called back?
We should be encouraging referees to make decisions based on a knowledge of the game, not a technicality which was never intended to create the decisions we often see.
I would suggest that would not be pulled up as the player batting the ball back is contesting the ball and briefly in possession, rather than being a decoy who is taking no part in the play.