crouching_tiger
New member
Sheens argued yesterday the Tigers should have been playing the ball on zero tackles after Simon Dwyer's monster hit on Roosters forward Jared Waerea-Hargreaves. **Dwyer regathered the ball after Waerea-Hargreaves lost control**, and was subsequently tackled by two Roosters players. Time was called to a halt while Waerea-Hargreaves was tended to by medical staff, only for play to be restarted with a scrum - which ended with Frank-Paul Nuuausala miraculously pilfering the ball.
>
**''There shouldn't have been a scrum in the first place,'' Sheens said. ''The call should have been play on. I think he [Waerea-Hargreaves] lost control of the ball before he hit the ground. He [Dwyer] picked it up for zero tackle - it was play on.''**
>
Sheens said officials had admitted a mistake to him after the referees had ruled a scrum in extra time in the golden-point loss to South Sydney in round 22 - after Rabbitohs five-eighth John Sutton damaged his shoulder and lost control of the ball.
>
**Referees' boss Robert Finch defended the decision, saying the officials had ruled that the tackle was complete before Waerea-Hargreaves had lost control of the ball.**
>
''There was an injured player on the ground, and a tackle was complete,'' Finch said. ''Waerea-Hargreaves … lost the ball on the ground. I could show you a squillion other ones like that. It's a scrum every time. When the referee deems that the tackle is complete, he starts the game with a scrum.''
>
With Dwyer yesterday cleared of any illegality in the tackle, Sheens also maintained the contentious scrum should either have been repacked, or the Roosters should have been penalised.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6ZQQQaOwDys" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
34th second in slow motion…
Sheens is correct.
Finch is a blatent liar.
You can clearly see the ball pop out before Hargraves' back hits the turf.Tackle is INCOMPLETE. PLAY ON idiots!!
>
**''There shouldn't have been a scrum in the first place,'' Sheens said. ''The call should have been play on. I think he [Waerea-Hargreaves] lost control of the ball before he hit the ground. He [Dwyer] picked it up for zero tackle - it was play on.''**
>
Sheens said officials had admitted a mistake to him after the referees had ruled a scrum in extra time in the golden-point loss to South Sydney in round 22 - after Rabbitohs five-eighth John Sutton damaged his shoulder and lost control of the ball.
>
**Referees' boss Robert Finch defended the decision, saying the officials had ruled that the tackle was complete before Waerea-Hargreaves had lost control of the ball.**
>
''There was an injured player on the ground, and a tackle was complete,'' Finch said. ''Waerea-Hargreaves … lost the ball on the ground. I could show you a squillion other ones like that. It's a scrum every time. When the referee deems that the tackle is complete, he starts the game with a scrum.''
>
With Dwyer yesterday cleared of any illegality in the tackle, Sheens also maintained the contentious scrum should either have been repacked, or the Roosters should have been penalised.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6ZQQQaOwDys" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
34th second in slow motion…
Sheens is correct.
Finch is a blatent liar.
You can clearly see the ball pop out before Hargraves' back hits the turf.Tackle is INCOMPLETE. PLAY ON idiots!!