Opinions on the 1st Beau Ryan- was he out?

NEDKELLY

New member
Joined
Jul 14, 2009
Messages
127
I have been listening to Graeme Hughes on Talkin Sport this morning and he is adamant that Beau Ryan stepped on the line for his 1st try!
I personally have watched the replay along with my Storm supporter wife (go figure as we don't live in Melbourne) and we both agreed that we could NOT see Ryan's boot on the line. I agree with Simpkins in giving him the Benefit of the Doubt and can't believe that anyone could be 100% sure as is Graeme Hughes.

I would apprecaite your opinions if you ACTUALLY saw his boot on the line?
 

crouching_tiger

New member
Joined
Jul 14, 2009
Messages
1,831
Was NO TRY. His toes must've been on the line behind the post from the camera angle. But the correct ruling was made as the video referee could not come to a CLEAR opinion with the post obstructing that view. So thus remains "doubt". Hence benefit of the "doubt".

IMO the refs did a bloody good job to even that up regardless in order to continue the hype for the NRL.
 

Tigerdave

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 12, 2009
Messages
13,562
Location
Lismore
very hard to tell, you would think that part of the boot was on the line, but in situations like that it is Benefit of the Doubt
 

crouching_tiger

New member
Joined
Jul 14, 2009
Messages
1,831
If his boot didn't touch the line then i will deadset give it away. Hayne's try in Origin was an incorrect calling because they didn't have an obstructed view from behind as well.
 

Muffstar

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 13, 2009
Messages
3,227
Location
Port Macquarie
@crouching_tiger said:
If his boot didn't touch the line then i will deadset give it away. Hayne's try in Origin was an incorrect calling because they didn't have an obstructed view from behind as well.

Yeah i agree his boot was on the line. Everyone where we were sitting said 'no try' when they showed it on the big screen.
 

T91

New member
Joined
Jul 12, 2009
Messages
236
I definitely thought his boot was on the line.. so No Try for me too.
 

Tigermac

New member
Joined
Jul 13, 2009
Messages
474
Yeah, i thought he was out, although it was the only call that went our way all night until his next try which I also had my doubts over.

Oh well, upwards and onwards

Go get em tiges
 

badger

New member
Joined
Jul 13, 2009
Messages
241
I was at the game and only saw the replay on the big screen. From were I was sitting it did look like it may have been no try but if , like you say, there was no conclusive "footage" (ha ha) the correct decision was made. I was pleasantly surprised with both 50/50 calls going our way for once.
 

crouching_tiger

New member
Joined
Jul 14, 2009
Messages
1,831
@steven_tiger said:
I think that call was fine.

His second try, however, was an ordinary call.

2nd one was another terrible call but the correct decision. The new rule for this year was changed if you recall regarding downward pressure. As long as there was some part of his arm touching the ball when it hits the ground it is a TRY apparently.
 
M

Mrs_Brightside

Guest
I agree with both tries being awarded last night because of BOTD and the rule change, NOT that I agree with it though.

The change to downward pressure is just crap, no control over the ball but yet it's good enough because a fingertip is still touching the ball as it falls over the line?
 

anderson_silva

New member
Joined
Jul 12, 2009
Messages
637
if he was out the touchy would of put his flag up but he ran into the in goal for the ok, camera was inconclusive IMO
 

alexaki

New member
Joined
Jul 11, 2009
Messages
5,287
I thought his shoe touched the line…but was happy to take the call...same with his last try.
 

armchair_expert

New member
Joined
Jul 25, 2009
Messages
121
yeah his boot looked like it grazed the line but i gotta say there was doubt there and we got the benifit of it.
ryan did an awsome job though in putting that ball down without taking the corner post
 

Peaches

New member
Joined
Jul 11, 2009
Messages
2,925
Location
Mount Pritchard
I have no problem with either try to be honest. BOTD was applied and should have been applied both times. You could not 100% tell his foot touched the line so you go with the call that was made. The 2nd try he never had control but never lost contact. I don't agree with the rule but the ruling was correct.
 

Juro

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 12, 2009
Messages
2,858
I would have accepted the try being disallowed. There was definitely some doubt about whether his foot was on the line, but not a lot of doubt.
 

Eye_Of_Wests_Tigers

New member
Joined
Aug 3, 2009
Messages
479
I was on the side where Ryan scored sitting on the toouch line on the try line.. IMO i thought it was out on first thoughts and i thought when VR was looking 3999999 times i thought no way but there was some doubt but i would have accepted try but also no try
 

senexx

New member
Joined
Jul 12, 2009
Messages
1,247
I thought he was out, therefore a no try.

I only thought he was out because of the way his foot twisted at the last moment though.
 

mctiger

Active member
Joined
Jul 11, 2009
Messages
494
I will be as diplomatic as possible and say that I am not sure that he was in…..
 
Top