The Reverse Touch Finder

@jirskyr said:
My understanding is that Robbie kicks for touch so that the restart is always 10m in and they can run their set plays from that spot. Given that he is usually doing this from 5-10m out anyway, it really doesn't give the defence an advantage.

I am of the belief that a tap can be taken anywhere in line with and up to the mark, much like a conversion. But I've never actually seen the rules stated as such. It may in fact be that it can only be taken on the mark itself.

Many years ago I remember a game in which I was involved where the opposition took the ball back after getting a penalty to take a quick tap close to our line

When they did it without informing the referee they were forced to pack a scrum with our feed as supposedly you must inform the referee of where the mark will be

They blew up deluxe and even I was totally surprised

I always wondered whether the referee got it right or not ??
 
@tig_prmz said:
robbie kicks out to to the 20 m line because apparently they have set plays from 20 m. i rem one of the commentator's pointing it out.

Bingo! Used to love watching Benji, Farah and Hodgo clicking like a well oiled machine from those set plays.
 
Back
Top