Historical examples keep our dream alive

BlackWhiteGold

Long time observer, first time poster here. As a passionate supporter of the Wests Tigers, I enjoy this forum for ITK info & all the insights. Given we’re all a bit low from recent performances, I wanted to share some of my insights to keep our ‘dream’ alive & show there is a method to what the club & Madge are out to achieve.

Firstly, I have no inside knowledge of the plans of the club, just years of experience working in footy clubland (another code) & sports PR so I have a fair idea on the landscape that the footy dept & club management/admin have to work within.

I was ecstatic with Madge’s appointment & continue to be excited with the decisions being made by Madge & management to set the club up for future success & sustained high performance on the footy field. To name a few - the appointment of Adam Hartigan, our recruitment model, acknowledgment of a previous lack of pathway for indigenous talent into the club (now being addressed in a big way), identifying a talent opportunity to ‘own’ (i.e. PNG talent), the COE at Concord & bringing in a tough, resilient, elite culture into the club etc.

In this time as hard as it may be as a member & fan, we need to stick solid knowing that short-term pain will be offset by long-term gain. We just need to remember the current Madge regime has ‘only’ been on board since 2019 & inherited massive salary cap & multi-year contract issues from previous regimes. We are actually only in the early stages of the Madge regime with the roster still to be evolved significantly in the next 1-2 seasons.

Now when the coach is given the opportunity to see through his plans & strategies, the result often does follow but not before short-term pain. Here are a few of my examples …

**From Round 12, 2003 to premiers, 2005**