jirskyr
Well-known member
@voice_of_reason said in [Round 8 Game Thread \*Spoilers\*](/post/1176212) said:@jirskyr said in [Round 8 Game Thread \*Spoilers\*](/post/1176168) said:@jirskyr said in [Round 8 Game Thread \*Spoilers\*](/post/1176167) said:@Fade-To-Black said in [Round 8 Game Thread \*Spoilers\*](/post/1176151) said:“Getting to one’s feet” must surely at least mean both feet are on the ground. Not one foot and the other leg kneeling.
There was a call of incorrect PTB near the end of the Manly game yesterday.
Arguably yes, but the rule does not say you can only place the ball once both your feet flat are on the ground. It says you must regain your feet AND lift/place the ball AND be facing the opposition's try line AND make an attempt to roll it back.
So to my point about the Finucane one, he is robbed of the ability to regain his feet after being pushed. It's not really relevant whether or not he's got the ball on the deck already, you can't have markers pushing at the PTB.
Specific to the incorrect PTB from the Manly game, I was actually thinking about that one. DCE got called for an incorrect PTB, challenged it and it was overturned in Manly's favour. DCE played the ball EXACTLY the same way as Finucane did.
Here is the screen shot.

DCE challenged a knock on as opposed to an incorrect PTB.
Yes I misspoke, I obviously went back and watched the tape. The point was he wasn't called for the PTB, and his PTB was exactly the same as Finucane's the other night. The refs were instead focused on the fumble (or not) with no comment at all about the player being on their feet.