@Fade-To-Black said in [Round 8 Game Thread \*Spoilers\*](/post/1173388) said:
Finucane never got to his feet at all before he put the ball on the ground.
Yes he did, I went back and watched it.
He steps onto his left foot, extends the left leg, places the ball towards the ground, pushes up with his right knee. As he does this, Friend pushes him in the shoulder before his right leg extends; Finucane cannot help but continue to place the ball down, but the force prevents him extending his right leg and he tips over to his RHS. Go watch it yourself.
He is entitled to play the ball this way.
The law states:
>The tackled player shall:
>a . without delay regain his feet where he is tackled
>b . lift the ball clear of the ground
>c . face his opponent’s goal line
>d . place the ball on the ground, and make a genuine attempt to play the ball with the foot while maintaining balance.
>Section 11 (10) (b)
It doesn't say anywhere that he has to be standing upright or have both legs extended. It doesn't even say he cannot place the ball on the ground before he is standing. So long as he has "regained his feet", which could be subject to interpretation, but at least means that he's got both feet planted and, per (d), has balance.
What I will grant is that the referees tend to apply discretion on what point a player has placed the ball down vs standing up, when the is an indiscretion in the ruck. So if you are totally standing upright and then place the ball, you are more likely to be awarded the infringement than if you have placed the ball down when still crouching.