@Geo. said:
What about you can't be within the 10 when a kick lands…Tongue slipped inside the 10...Offside penalty even before it touched Payto..
Yeah I'm not entirely sure how the laws are supposed to be interpreted in this case. Here's the part in the laws about retiring the 10 metres:
"An off side player shall not take any part in the game or attempt in any way to influence the course of the game. He shall not encroach within ten metres of an opponent who is waiting for the ball and shall immediately retire ten metres from any opponent who first secures possession of the ball."
I think that because Payten was neither "waiting for the ball" nor ever "secured possession of the ball", this part of the rule did not apply to Tongue. For the split second that Tongue was offside (from the moment the ball left Dugan's boot to the moment it hit Payten's leg or to the moment that Dugan ran past Tongue, whichever came first),it appears that he only had to comply with the part "not take any part in the game or attempt in any way to influence the course of the game". And this would be very hard to determine, given that we are talking about less than half a second.
It will be interesting to see if anyone questions Bill Harrigan about this on talkback radio tomorrow. I'd be keen to hear his response!